Do Midterms Ever End?

It has been quite a while since I have blogged. I apologize, but life has gotten quite hectic here in Buenos Aires. So, it is safe to say I have a lot of back-blogging to do.

I had mid-terms about three weeks ago. It did not seem so bad at first. During actual exam week I had two mid-term exams in one week. Then the next week I had two presentations, and the next week a 10 page research paper and a presentation, and the next week another 10 page research paper and a presentation in Spanish, and this week another presentation and a Spanish paper. This semester has been like an avalanche. The first few weeks, I was confused that I was not flooded with homework, despite taking 5 classes. I wish I would have relished the first few weeks more knowing what I know now.

Even though these weeks have been busy, I am learning so much. I have just been reflecting on all my classes and it’s amazing how my classes are really working together to give me quite a comprehensive knowledge about Argentina. To be fair, it would take a lifetime to understand Argentina, but still I am just so happy about how much I am learning. I get to see the political history, the social history, the race history, the gender history, the human rights history, even the language. If all I was allowed to do here was to take these classes and nothing else, I would still be so grateful for this opportunity. This semester is a big step towards becoming an aware international citizen.

 

Emilee Pierson

Leave a comment