Café Cultura

Almost everywhere outside of the United States tends to have what I like to call a café culture, which essentially means that people both go to cafés more frequently and also stay there for a long time while only usually ordering just one coffee. This is almost unseen in the U.S. Either a waiter rushes you out so there is room for new customers or you are forced to keep ordering food if you want to keep your table. Before I arrived in Argentina I was one of those people that once I finished eating I was ready for the check and ready to leave. It was actually one of my pet peeves when it took a long time for the check to come after I had finished eating. I never really thought that would change. I have always loved eating at different places, but I was always in a rush to leave.

With time, my view on this has completely changed and I am enamored with the café culture. One of the reasons my opinion has changed is because going to different cafés is a great way to explore different parts of the city without putting a dent in your bank account. I love going out and ordering an appetizer, entree, and dessert, however my bank account does not agree. You can go to a café get a coffee or tea and a snack for under 150 pesos (10 USD), rather than going to dinner and having to spend at least 300 pesos (20 USD). Another thing I like about cafés is that whether you go by yourself or with your friends it is always a good time. Going by yourself means you can get work done, or read, or even people watch and going with friends means laughter, good times, and possibly getting to try their food as well. Either way it is fun. Some of the best times at cafés is just talking and meeting random people. Last week my waiter happened to be a history professor picking up shifts to supplement his salary. While the language barrier kept me from going in depth into the much complicated history of Argentina, we were still able to chat about it for a bit. Its interactions like these that make me LOVE cafés. One of the reasons I did not like going to cafés as much earlier is because I did not like coffee, but with my persistent attitude and lots of sugar packets I am now an avid coffee drinker. I like cafés because coffee keeps me focused and cafés deter me from avoiding my responsibilities with Netflix.

I am now realizing I only have two more weeks of Argentine cafés and the culture that comes with it, I have combated that with going to a café five times this week. Some of my favorite times in Argentina so far have been reading about the culture and history of Argentina while sipping on a cappuccino.

Below are the two best cappuccinos I have had thus far. Can you tell yogurt and granola is my go to snack??

IMG_5141IMG_5118

img_5144.pngAlso nothing is better than french toast with real american syrup y cafe con leche!!

Leave a comment